



One Tier System: Current Struggles Virtual CPFA Conference Saturday, April 20, 2024:

10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

PROGRAM

10:00 a.m. - Introductions & Opening Ceremony (15 min.)

- John Martin, CPFA Chair
- Laurel Hartley/Daniel R. Thompson, Conference Chairs
- Members of the CPFA Executive Council

10:15 a.m. - "One Tier" Movement (75 min.)

- John Govsky, Cabrillo, PT California Federation of Teachers (CFT) (10 min.)
- David Milroy, Chair San Diego Adjunct Faculty Association (SDAFA) (10 min.)
- Frank Cosco, Vancouver Community College (20 min.)
- Kristie Iwamoto President, Napa Valley Faculty Association, California College Association (CCA)/California Teachers Association (CTA), CPFA Northern Regional Representative & Elections Chair (20 min.)
- Discussion (15 min.)
- Moderator: Sue Broxholm, CPFA Bay Area Regional Representative

11:30 a.m. - **Break** (15 min.)

11:45 a.m. - Election Results: Membership (10 min.)

Kristie Iwamoto, CPFA Elections Chair

11:55 a.m. - **Membership Update** (5 min.)

David Donica, CPFA Director of Membership

12:00 p.m. - **Lunch Break** (30 min.)

12:30 p.m. - **Special Presentation** (10 min.)

- Robert Yoshioka Non-Tenure Faculty Advocate Award Presentation
- Presented by Robert Yoshioka, CPFA Ex-Officio member
- Nominate Long Beach City College litigants (Karen Roberts and Seija Rohkea)

12:40 p.m. - Legislation: Present & Future (85 min.)

- AB 2277 (Raising the Cap from 67% to 85%) (40 min.)
- Scott Douglas, CPFA SoCal Regional Representative
- Seniority AND Just Cause (20 min.)
- Daniel R. Thompson, CPFA Legislative Analyst
- Other legislation (10 min.)
- Discussion (15 min.)
- Moderator: John Martin, CPFA Chair

2:05 p.m. - **Break** (10 min.)

2:15 p.m. - Elimination of WEP/GPO (75 min.)

- Windfall Elimination Provision/Government Pension Offset
- Suzie Dixon, CalRTA President (60 min.)
- Discussion (15 min.)
- Moderator: Laurel Hartley, CPFA Butte College Representative

3:30 p.m. - Closing Ceremony (20 min.)

- Questions from the Audience
- Final Discussion
- Moderator: John Martin, CPFA Chair

3:50 p.m. - **Raffle** (10 min.)

- T-shirts (4 winners)
- Moderator: Kristie Iwamoto, CPFA Northern Regional Representative

4:00 p.m. - Conference Ends



Special Thanks to: Magian K. Smith (Zoom Moderator)

Current CPFA Executive Council Members:

John Martin, M.A. (Chair)

Daniel R. Thompson, M.A. (Legislative Analyst)

Suji Venkataraman, M.A. (Director of Administration)

David Donica, M.B.A. (Director of Membership)

Laura Sweeney, M.A. (Director of Social Media)

Laurel Hartley, M.A. (Butte College Representative)

Kristie Iwamoto, M.A. (Northern Regional Representative)

Sue Broxholm, M.A. (Bay Area Regional Representative)

Karen Beck, M.A. (Greater Los Angeles Representative)

Scott Douglas, M.A. (Southern Regional Representative)

Dr. Robert Yoshioka, Ph.D. (Ex-Officio Member)